Makalu Expedition, Makalu Peak Climbing

Makalu Expedition (8463m)

50 Days price Book Now
Enquire Now

makalu Height: 27,765 feet (8,463 meters)
Location: Makalu-Barun, Nepal/Tibet, Asia
Lat/Lon: 27.8899

Makalu, the world’s fifth highest peak in the world rising to 27,765 feet (8,463 meters). This beautiful and impressive massive is situated just 14 miles east of Everest in the Khumbu region. Its size alone is impressive, but its perfect pyramid structure with four sharp ridges makes this mountain all the more spectacular. Makalu is actually a double peak.

The subsidary peak rising just north of the main summit connected by a saddle is called Chomolonzo (25,650 ft.) It is interesting to note that the summit ridge is the demarcation point indicating the border between Nepal on the Southern side and Tibet to the North.

The name of the mountain was probably taken from the Sanskrit word Maha-Kala, which means Big Black and is a by-name of Shiva – one of the most important gods of Hinduism. Shiva is sometimes an evil, cruel destroyer but at other times he tends to be gentle and kind-hearted. The mountain has another name in the local dialect – Kumba karna, which means The Giant.

Makalu has proved to be a challenging climb, as only five of its first sixteen attempts were successful. To date, there have been a total of 206 successful ascents of Makalu and a total of 22 fatalities. There have been no known winter ascents of this peak.
Prior to its first ascent in 1955, it was admired and studied by several Everest expeditions, but like a lot of other giants in the Khumbu region, it was not attempted until the summit of Everest was first ascended in 1954.

Itinerary Overview

Day 1: Arrive Kathmandu & transfer to hotel.
Day 2: Briefing in Tourism Ministry & prepare for expedition.
Day 3: Briefing in Tourism Ministry & prepare for expedition.
Day 4: Fly to Tumlingtar.
Day 5: Tumlingtar to Kuwapani.
Day 6: Kuwapani to Chichila.
Day 7: Chichila to Num.
Day 8: Num to Seduwa.
Day 9: Seduwa to Tashigaun.
Day 10: Tashigaun to Khongmadanda.
Day 11: Khongmadanda to Mumfuk
Day 12: Mumfuk to Yangle Kharak
Day 13: Yangle Khark to Merak.
Day 14: Merak to Sersung (half day rest) for acclimatize.
Day 15: Sersung to Makalu BC
Day 16-41: Climbing Period of Makalu 1 8463m.
Day 42: Makalu BC to Mumbuck.
Day 43: Mumbuck to Khongma La (Danda).
Day 44: Khongma La to Seduwa.
Day 45: Seduwa to Chichila.
Day 46: Chichila to Tumlingtar
Day 47: Tumlingtar to Kathmandu
Day 48-49: Kathmandu.
Day 50: Final Departure.

Write a Review